Food And Beverage News / Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association

Team Kansas Wins National Culinary Competition, a Shining Moment for the State

Via: ReleaseWire

Updated 2:28 PM CDT, Wed, April 22,2015

Olathe Public High School’s Team Edasia Wins National ProStart Invitational Culinary Competition

Wichita, KS -- (ReleaseWire) -- 04/22/2015 -- Team Kansas from Olathe Public High Schools took home the win for the culinary competition at the 2015 National ProStart Invitational, April 18-20 in Anaheim, Calif. Led by Chef Mike Chrostowski, team members included: Melinda Hrdy, Michael Miller, Ashleigh Hagen, Haneen Ibrahim and Rachel Cormeny.

"These students are professionals," said Neeley Carlson, VP Education & Training at Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association (KRHA). "They've poured more than 700 hours of preparation into this competition, perfecting their craft and demonstrating their passion for the culinary arts. Their dedication is helping to empower our industry in Kansas."

The ProStart program is a two-year course, offered at 30 high schools in Kansas, that allows more than more than 2,000 students to get experience in culinary and restaurant management.

The National ProStart Invitational is the finale of the nationwide series of state competitions hosted by partner state restaurant associations. Only teams awarded first place from each of the 48 competing states advanced to compete in the National ProStart Invitational.

For each respective competition — culinary or management — students must impress judges from leading industry corporations, colleges and universities with the skills they've developed through ProStart.

The culinary competition highlights each team's creative abilities through the preparation of a three-course meal in 60 minutes, using two butane burners and without access to running water or electricity. There is no room for error as they are evaluated on taste, skill, teamwork, safety and sanitation.

"KRHA and especially Neeley Carlson have done an excellent job of nurturing the students to achieve culinary excellence," said Scott Redler, co-founder of Freddy's Frozen Custard & Steakburgers and National Restaurant Association Board Member. Congratulations to the Olathe team and KRHA for inspiring our next generation of restaurant leaders."

The top five teams from the culinary and management competitions are awarded generous educational scholarships to help further their careers in the restaurant and foodservice industry. Every year, the National Restaurant Association Education Foundation awards more than $1 million in student scholarships.

About KRHA
The Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association, founded in 1929, is the leading business association for restaurants, hotels, motels, country clubs, private clubs and allied business in Kansas. Along with the Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association Education Foundation, the association works to represent, educate and promote the rapidly growing industry of hospitality in Kansas.

For more information about the KRHA, visit

For more information on this press release visit:

Media Relations Contact
Neeley Carlson
Email: Click to Email Neeley Carlson